Varnado named All-SEC by AP

STARKVILLE , Miss. – One week after being named first-team All-SEC by the league coaches, junior forward Jarvis Varnado received the same honor from the Associated Press.
The Brownsville, Tenn. , native leads MSU with a 13.1 scoring clip and 9.0 rebounds and was instrumental in leading the Bulldogs to the SEC Tournament title, where he was named MVP after averaging 13.8 points, 8.8 rebounds and blocked 22 shots in four games that ended with an inspirational 64-61 win against Tennessee.
Varnado, who was also named the league's Defensive Player of the Year last week, leads the nation with 165 blocks, the most ever recorded by any player in the SEC in a single season.
The Bulldogs (23-12), who own a six-game winning streak, are back in action on Thursday in the opening round of the NCAA Tournament in Portland , Ore. , where they'll face Washington (25-8) at 3:45 p.m.
MSU announced earlier on Monday it had sold its entire allotment of tickets.
The 2009 Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference men's basketball team released Monday, with name, school, position, height and class (u-unanimous choice to first team; t-tied for final spot on first team):
u-Marcus Thornton , LSU, G, 6-4, Sr.
Devan Downey , South Carolina, G, 5-9, Jr.
Jodie Meeks, Kentucky, G, 6-4, Jr.
Tyler Smith, Tennessee, F, 6-7, Jr.
t-Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State, F-C, 6-9, Jr.
t-Nick Calathes, Florida, G, 6-6, So.
t-Tasmin Mitchell, LSU, F, 6-7, Jr.
Patrick Patterson, Kentucky, F, 6-9, So.
Korvotney Barber, Auburn, F, 6-7, Sr.
Alonzo Gee, Alabama, G, 6-6, Sr.
David Huertas, Mississippi, G, 6-5, Jr.
Terrico White , Mississippi, G, 6-5, Fr.
Michael Washington, Arkansas, F, 6-9, Jr.
Dominique Archie, South Carolina, F, 6-7, Jr.; Wayne Chism, Tennessee, F, 6-9, Jr.; Chris Johnson, LSU, 6-11, Sr.; A.J. Ogilvy, Vanderbilt, C, 6-11, So.
PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Marcus Thornton, LSU
COACH OF THE YEAR - Trent Johnson, LSU
NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR - Terrico White, Mississippi