Bost, Govero named award finalists

STARKVILLE, Miss. - After sweeping the Howell and Gillom Trophy awards the past two seasons, Mississippi State gets another opportunity this year as Dee Bost and Mary Kathryn Govero were named finalist on Monday afternoon.
The winners will be announced on Monday, March 7 at a luncheon ceremony at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame in Jackson, beginning at 11:15 a.m.
Joining Bost as a finalist for the Cellular South Howell Trophy, presented to Mississippi's top male collegiate basketball player, are Gary Flowers of Southern Miss and Chris Warren of Ole Miss.
Joining Govero for the Cellular South Gillom Trophy, given to the top female player, are Kayla Melson of Ole Miss and Veronica Walker of Delta State .
The past two years, Jarvis Varnado has won the Howell Trophy, while Alexis Rack was named the recipient of the Gillom Trophy.
"It's an honor," Bost said. "It's extra special because Mr. Howell is an alumni. It's also a privilege to be mentioned with players like Chris and Gary. Whoever wins will be very deserving."
Bost, a native of Concord, N.C., has definitely made an impact in SEC play this season. In the Bulldogs' 14 games, he's first in assists (6.0), third in steals (1.7), fourth in minutes played (35.4) and eighth in scoring (16.2).
This past Saturday at Tennessee, he posted his first double-double of the year with 14 points and 10 assists and is now just 86 assists shy of tying the school record of 514 held by Derrick Zimmerman.
A native of Clinton, Miss., Govero has played in 126 career games, starting 88, the second-most in school history. She ranks 12th all-time at MSU with 1,150 points and has hit 181 career 3-pointers, which ranks third in school history. She's also fourth in 3-point field-goal attempts with 477.
Govero had a career-high 28 points in the season opener against USC Upstate and has scored in double figures in 11 of the last 13 games this season. She was named to the Capital One Academic All-District First Team this season and is a nominee for the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the year.
"I feel very honored and blessed," Govero said. "It's an honor to be recognized after Alexis has won it the past two years."