Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

July 12, 2012

Hankins joins Outland, Nagurski watch lists

Follow Noon | Givler | Axelrod | Birmingham

Having already landed on one of the nation's most prestigious watch lists, Ohio State defensive tackle Johnathan Hankins picked up a few more eyeballs on Thursday, when he was added to watch lists for both the Outland Trophy and Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

Hankins is one of 71 players to be named to the watch list for the Outland Trophy, which is awarded annually to college football's best interior lineman by the Football Writers Association of America. Since its creation in 1946, four Buckeyes have won the award: Jim Parker (1956), Jim Stillwagon (1970), John Hicks (1973), and Orlando Pace (1996).

Three finalists for the Outland Trophy will be chosen from the FWAA's All-America team on Nov. 19. The winner will be announced on Dec. 6 as a part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

Also presented by the FWAA, as well as the Charlotte Touchdown Club, the Nagurski Trophy is given annually to the nation's best defensive player. The 6-foot-3, 317-pound Hankins joins teammate John Simon on the 84-member watch list. Linebacker James Laurinaitis (2006) is the only Buckeye to have won the award in its 19-year history.

After choosing five finalists for the award from its All-America team on Nov. 15, the winner of the Nagurski Trophy will be announced on Dec. 3 at a banquet in Charlotte, N.C.

Entering his junior season, Hankins is coming off of a 2011 season that saw him record 67 tackles- 11 of which came for a loss- and three sacks. Simon, a senior defensive end, tallied 53 tackles and team-highs of 16 tackles for a loss and seven sacks a season ago.

Earlier this week, both Hankins and Simon were named to the watch list for the Bednarik award, which goes to the nation's top defensive player. Other Buckeyes named to watch lists this week include quarterback Braxton Miller (Maxwell Award), tight end Jake Stoneburner (John Mackey Award), and kicker Drew Basil (Lou Groza Award).

Mississippi State NEWS


Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos BulldogBlitz.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.